Judgment: 2011-12-16 · Court archive

High Court grants summary judgment against Patricia Quinn on €3m joint loan

The court found no arguable defence to the bank’s claim against the second defendant, while noting judgment had already been recovered against the first defendant.

{'name': 'High Court', 'division': 'Commercial'} · [2011] IEHC 470

Who, what, where, when and why

Who
  • Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Limited (Plaintiff)
  • Seán Quinn
  • Patricia Quinn (Defendant)
What

The court found no arguable defence to the bank’s claim against the second defendant, while noting judgment had already been recovered against the first defendant.

Where

No place detail is included in this summary.

When

Judgment:

Why

Reasons reported in the judgment

The High Court has granted Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Limited summary judgment against Patricia Quinn for the outstanding amount on a €3 million joint loan, finding that she had not shown an arguable defence. The judgment does not state the precise amount outstanding.

The High Court has granted Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Limited summary judgment against Patricia Quinn for the outstanding amount on a €3 million joint loan, finding that she had not shown an arguable defence. The judgment does not state the precise amount outstanding.

Mr Justice Kelly delivered the ruling on 16 December 2011. The bank’s claim arose from a facility letter and credit agreement dated 17 November 2006. The facility was repayable on demand, and the court said no issue had been raised about the demand. Judgment had already been recovered against the first defendant, Seán Quinn.

Mrs Quinn advanced three grounds to resist summary judgment: that she had not known the nature of the documents she signed, that she acted under her husband’s undue influence, and that she received no benefit from the loan.

Taking her affidavit evidence at face value for the application, the judge said her account was that she routinely signed documents presented by her husband or colleagues in the Quinn Group without them being explained. She said she had no recollection of seeing or signing the facility letter, although she accepted the signature was hers, and did not know of the personal loan until proceedings began.

The judge held that this account did not raise an arguable defence of non est factum. He said she had given no thought to what she was signing and had not shown a radical difference between what she believed she signed and the loan agreement, or that she had taken reasonable care to establish its nature.

On undue influence, the court rejected the argument that the relationship between spouses gave rise to a legal presumption. It also found no evidence of actual undue influence, such as threats, bullying or impairment.

The judge accepted that the loan money was transferred, at Mr Quinn’s direction, to a Quinn company. But the defendants were joint borrowers, and the loan terms permitted the bank to act on instructions from either borrower. The judge said any complaint by Mrs Quinn that she received no value from the funds was against her husband, rather than the bank. The evidence also showed that interest had been paid on a number of occasions.

The court separately rejected a late argument about Mrs Quinn’s signature under a section concerning contracts negotiated away from bank premises. As no bank representative was present when the agreement was signed, the judge held that the signature was not required and raised no defence.

Concluding that none of the three grounds disclosed an arguable defence, the judge held the bank was entitled to summary judgment against Mrs Quinn for the outstanding amount.

Read the original court judgment

Something looks wrong?

Highlight the relevant passage or flag this article for review. Review requests do not immediately change the report.

Email a correction request

Request a review